What is Mental Health Community Court? (Washington D.C.)

June 25, 2019



There are three types diversion programs generally offered by the US Attorney's Office in Washington D.C. in criminal cases. Mediation, Deferred Prosecution, and Deferred Sentencing Agreement. The Mental Health Community Court is a part of the Deferred Prosecution regime


Eligibility:  Defendants who have a verified mental illness, irrespective of drug testing history. A defendant may be eligible with no more than three pending misdemeanors. However, a defendant may not be charged with a domestic violence offense or a weapons/firearms-related offense. The Pretrial Services Agency (PSA) must screen and approve the defendant for supervision by the D.C. PSA Specialized Supervision Unit. If approved by PSA, the USAO will screen the case for admission.


Requirements:  The defendant must enter into a Deferred Prosecution Agreement (DPA), a Delayed Sentencing Agreement (DSA) or an Amended Sentencing Agreement (ASA, for felonies only). Among other conditions, the defendant must participate in mental health treatment and, if necessary, drug testing and treatment, at the direction of PSA

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Recent Posts

October 19, 2017

Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2024 Gregory W. Copeland L.L.C.  Proudly created with Wix.com

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon